Three new drabble postcards to NAMA.

Entrapment

‘I hate this job!’, Evelina declared.

But her job in Spar is a job nonetheless.  It’s a far cry from the hopes and dreams stuffed into that suitcase when she first flew to Ireland from her native Lithuania five years ago.  Then, anything seemed possible – a successful career, maybe a new love, and a place to call her own.

‘Now I’m just thankful to have a job at all, even though I’m not fulfilling my potential’ she said from her poorly maintained rented flat.

As bleak as the economic prospects are here, they’re worse back in Lithuania.  This is entrapment.

John Watters

On yer bike

“Are you sure about this?”

“I don’t think we have much choice. We have to downsize, cut the cloth and all that…we’re officially a one car family now.”

“But you haven’t been on a pushbike for years!”

“Don’t you think I know that?”

“Well I suppose we better look on the bright side. You’ve lost a car, gained a bike and you still have a job.”

“Yeah, maybe I’ll lose my gut too.  Never fancied myself as the cycling type but desperate times calls for desperate means, or something like that…”

“Don’t you think you are being a bit melodramatic?”

Mary Corcoran

For Sale

John and Maeve sat on the wooden bench outside their house watching their son David playing with the neighbours.  David and Evan were four and Ben was five.  They were kicking a ball around the green.

‘They’re toe-bogging that ball’ said John.

‘Ah they’re only small’ said Maeve ‘Look at them, they’re having fun’.

‘I’m only messin’ sure’.

Parked outside was John’s van. It was for sale.  He’d already sold most of his tools.  The work just wasn’t there.  He pulled a wan smile.  Maeve looked away.  Outside their home they sat thinking the same thing, but neither one spoke.

Cian O’Callaghan

